Join the ranks of USA Math Olympiad Winners with AoPS's intensive 7-month WOOT program. Classes start soon. Enroll Now!
Need Help?

Need help finding the right class? Have a question about how classes work?

Click here to Ask AoPS!

Introduction to Programming with Python

A first course in computer programming using the Python programming language. This course covers basic programming concepts such as variables, data types, iteration, flow of control, input/output, and functions.

12 weeks

Diagnostics

ARE YOU READY? DO YOU NEED THIS?

Documents

SYLLABUS
12 weeks ARE YOU READY? DO YOU NEED THIS? SYLLABUS  

Schedule

Monday
Jul 3 - Sep 25
7:30 - 9:00
PM ET
Jul 3 - Sep 25
7:30 - 9:00 PM Eastern
6:30 - 8:00 PM Central
5:30 - 7:00 PM Mountain
4:30 - 6:00 PM Pacific
Click here to see more time zones
$530 (~$45/week)
$530 (~$45/week)
CLOSED
Wednesday
Aug 9 - Oct 25
7:30 - 9:00
PM ET
Aug 9 - Oct 25
7:30 - 9:00 PM Eastern
6:30 - 8:00 PM Central
5:30 - 7:00 PM Mountain
4:30 - 6:00 PM Pacific
Click here to see more time zones
$530 (~$45/week)
$530 (~$45/week)
ENROLL
Sunday
Sep 24 - Dec 17
7:30 - 9:00
PM ET
Sep 24 - Dec 17
7:30 - 9:00 PM Eastern
6:30 - 8:00 PM Central
5:30 - 7:00 PM Mountain
4:30 - 6:00 PM Pacific
Click here to see more time zones
$530 (~$45/week)
$530 (~$45/week)
ENROLL
Thursday
Nov 30 - Feb 29
7:30 - 9:00
PM ET
Nov 30 - Feb 29
7:30 - 9:00 PM Eastern
6:30 - 8:00 PM Central
5:30 - 7:00 PM Mountain
4:30 - 6:00 PM Pacific
Click here to see more time zones
$530 (~$45/week)
$530 (~$45/week)
ENROLL

AoPS Holidays

There are no classes September 2‐4, October 31, November 20‐27, and December 21‐January 3, 2024.

Who Should Take?

This course will assume no previous computer programming experience. Students who are proficient in a programming language other than Python might be better served by studying Python syntax on their own before moving on to our Intermediate Python course. This class is appropriate for middle and high school students who do not have computer programming experience and have completed at least a Prealgebra math course.

Students with prior programming experience in Python might instead consider our Intermediate Programming with Python course. Students with considerable experience with another language might also consider our Intermediate Programming with Python course.

We will be providing a free online textbook for this class, which students can access from the class homepage. Students will also need to download free Python software onto their computers. We will provide detailed instructions for how to install this software prior to the beginning of the course.

Lessons

Lesson 1 What is Programming? What is Python?
Lesson 2 Data Types, Variables, and Expressions
Lesson 3 Turtles and Loops
Lesson 4 Functions
Lesson 5 Conditionals
Lesson 6 Flow of Control
Lesson 7 Strings
Lesson 8 Lists and Tuples
Lesson 9 File Input/Output
Lesson 10 Dictionaries
Lesson 11 Final Project, Week 1
Lesson 12 Final Project, Week 2

This was a really awesome and fun programming class. I started from point zero and now I have started to love programming so much! I didn't know anything about programming, and now I feel more confident about my knowledge in that area. So thank you, AoPS, for helping me foster a newborn love for programming and teaching me so much about Python in a super fun way.

Invalid username
Sign In